Restoring deleted secrets

When a secret is deleted, it is sent to the space trash. It is also removed from the list of secrets.

A deleted secret is still accessible through its direct URL. However, it is marked as In trash:

As a space administrator, you can restore or purge deleted secrets. Purging will remove the secret from Confluence in its entirety, except for its audit logs.

Restoring a secret

A restore of deleted secret will recover all of the information and functionality back to normal. Follow these steps to restore:

  1. Under Space Settings, click on Content Tools > Trash.

  2. Find the deleted secret to recover.

  3. Click Restore and follow the confirmation dialog.


Known issue

Restored secrets do not appear in search results due to a known bug in Confluence. See CONFCLOUD-70589.