Creating and editing secrets

Storing sensitive information on Confluence Cloud is simple with the Secret macro. The macro encrypts sensitive information before it gets transmitted over the network and before it gets saved in Confluence. This way, you can securely store and share sensitive information while collaborating with your team members on Confluence.

NOTE

Secret macros belong to the space, which means they are automatically accessible by anyone who can access the space and is part of the macros' access control configuration. More details are available on this page:

Creating a secret

  1. Either search and select Secret from the macro browser or use the keyboard shortcut ( "/" for new editor or "{" for old editor).

  2. The Insert Secret Macro window appears. Enter the Title.



    This is the text that will appear to anyone who is viewing the secret block. Try to give it a clearly distinguishable title, for example, "Acme Corp Twitter account" or "PSK: vpn.acme.com".
  3. Enter a Description

    A description is recommended so that users can easily get more information about the secret. You can add something meaningful, for example, "Acme Corp's official Twitter account" or "The pre-shared key for global VPN".
  4. Now enter the sensitive information that you would like to encrypt and store in the Secret field.


    This field accepts single or multi-line text characters and emojis.
  5. Next, click the Access tab to set access restrictions.

    Choose Allow access to the following users and groups to make the Secret accessible to specific
     users and groups. Type in a user or user group name to add them.


    (warning) The "Deny access" control is now deprecated, and is no longer available in the latest version of this app. For more details, refer to this KB article.
  6. Next, you can optionally add other users or groups as owners under User Owners or Group Owners.

    1. By default, you are the owner of the secret because you are its creator.

    2. Owners can access and change the contents of a Secret, whereas Users are limited to read-only access.

    3. Owners can also add/remove access to Secrets. Start typing in the field to search for a Confluence user or click to select from a menu.

    4. Both users and groups who are owners of the macro have similar access and edit abilities.

      Note: If you had left the Users and User Groups fields blank in the previous step, then only you (the owner of the secret) will be able to view it.
  7. And after you click Insert, you'll have something that looks like this in the Confluence editor:


  8. Publish the page to see the results:


Editing a secret

You can only edit a Secret macro if you're the owner of the macro.

  1. In page editor, click on the Secret macro you would like to edit.
  2. When the Secret macro block is highlighted, click on the pencil  icon to edit the macro.

  3. Make the needed changes to any field.
  4. Click Save and Publish the page.